Yesterday's Dream, Today's Reality, Tomorrow's Vision

Nursing Home Transition and Diversion Waiver Program

What is the Nursing Home Transition and Diversion Medicaid Waiver Program?

The Nursing Home Transition and Diversion (NHTD) Medicaid Waiver is a program created to offer New-Yorkers with disabilities and senior citizens a way to live in the community. The NHTD program offers a wide range of special services that will help people in their daily lives. These services   include re-teaching basic skills, building ramps to allow access to homes, and safety monitoring.

Who is eligible for the NHTD program?

The program is for people who choose to live in the community instead of a nursing home and who meet these requirements:

  1. 18 years of age or older
  2. Eligible for nursing home level of care
  3. Eligible for Medicaid coverage for community-based long term care

How does the NHTD Program work?

There are nine agencies located across New York State that can help anyone interested in the NHTD program. Each of these nine Regional Resource Development Center (RRDC) agencies has a Regional Resource Development Specialist (RRDS) who can explain the program. The RRDS helps people get started and assists them in selecting a Service Coordination agency. A Service Coordinator from that agency then works with each person to apply for the NHTD program and to develop a Service Plan. The Service Plan is designed to help the person live safely in the community.

For more information visit the NYS Department of Health



Event Calendar